Lake District - East

Includes Kirkstone Pass and the valleys to the east

The Eastern area of the Lake District includes: 1. Longsleddale, 2. Kentmere, 3. Troutbeck, 4. Kirkstone Pass, 5. Brothers Water, 6. Hartsop, 7. Patterdale, 8. Glenridding 9. Dockray, 10. Pooley Bridge, 11. Howtown, and 12. Mardale.

Click on a link below to explore further.

East > 11. Howtown Area

Area Summary

The Howtown area is based on the hamlet of the same name, on the east side of Ullswater.

Click on a link below to explore further.

Howtown Hause

A small road pass from Howtown to Martindale, complete with the usual hairpin bends. It lies between the two small fells of Hallin Fell and Steel Knotts.

Images for Howtown Hause

Lake District - East - Howtown Area - Howtown Hause 1

External map links for Howtown Hause

View on 1:200k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:50k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:25k OS map (StreetMap)

Photo Credits:
1: © Copyright Martin and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.