Lake District - East

Includes Kirkstone Pass and the valleys to the east

The Eastern area of the Lake District includes: 1. Longsleddale, 2. Kentmere, 3. Troutbeck, 4. Kirkstone Pass, 5. Brothers Water, 6. Hartsop, 7. Patterdale, 8. Glenridding 9. Dockray, 10. Pooley Bridge, 11. Howtown, and 12. Mardale.

Click on a link below to explore further.

East > 12. Mardale Area

Area Summary

The Mardale area is based around the valley of the same name in the far north-east of the Lake District.

It was once home to a village called Mardale Green and a natural lake called Haweswater, with a road at its western side. All these were drowned with the building of Haweswater Dam.

Click on a link below to explore further.