Lake District - East

Includes Kirkstone Pass and the valleys to the east

The Eastern area of the Lake District includes: 1. Longsleddale, 2. Kentmere, 3. Troutbeck, 4. Kirkstone Pass, 5. Brothers Water, 6. Hartsop, 7. Patterdale, 8. Glenridding 9. Dockray, 10. Pooley Bridge, 11. Howtown, and 12. Mardale.

Click on a link below to explore further.

East > 12. Mardale Area

Area Summary

The Mardale area is based around the valley of the same name in the far north-east of the Lake District.

It was once home to a village called Mardale Green and a natural lake called Haweswater, with a road at its western side. All these were drowned with the building of Haweswater Dam.

Click on a link below to explore further.

Rough Crag

An eastern ridge of High Street fell.

Images for Rough Crag

Lake District - East - Mardale Area - Rough Crag 1

External map links for Rough Crag

View on 1:200k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:50k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:25k OS map (StreetMap)

Photo Credits:
1: © Copyright Tom Richardson and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.