Lake District - East

Includes Kirkstone Pass and the valleys to the east

The Eastern area of the Lake District includes: 1. Longsleddale, 2. Kentmere, 3. Troutbeck, 4. Kirkstone Pass, 5. Brothers Water, 6. Hartsop, 7. Patterdale, 8. Glenridding 9. Dockray, 10. Pooley Bridge, 11. Howtown, and 12. Mardale.

Click on a link below to explore further.

East > 10. Pooley Bridge Area

Area Summary

The Pooley Bridge area is based around the village of the same name and lies at the north end of Ullswater.

Click on a link below to explore further.


A 14th century pele tower which has been built around over the years to become a mansion. Open to the public. Its exterior is 18th century.

Images for Dalemain

Lake District - East - Pooley Bridge Area - Dalemain 1

External map links for Dalemain

View on 1:200k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:50k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:25k OS map (StreetMap)

Photo Credits:
1: © Copyright Geoff Gill and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.