Lake District - South

Includes Grasmere, Langdale, and areas around Lake Windermere and Lake Coniston

The Southern area of the Lake District includes: 1. Grasmere, 2. Rydal, 3. Ambleside, 4. Windermere, 5. Bowness-on-Windermere, 6. Newby Bridge, 7. Near Sawrey, 8. Hawkshead, 9. Coniston, 10. Tilberthwaite, 11. Little Langdale, and 12. Great Langdale.

Click on a link below to explore further.

South > 9. Coniston Area

Area Summary

A former mining village on the edge of the lake of the same name.

Click on a link below to explore further.

Coniston Hall

A historic hall owned by the National Trust, built around the 1600's. There is no public access to the building.

Images for Coniston Hall

Lake District - South - Coniston Area - Coniston Hall 1

External map links for Coniston Hall

View on 1:200k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:50k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:25k OS map (StreetMap)

Photo Credits:
1: © Copyright Mari Buckley and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.