Lake District - South

Includes Grasmere, Langdale, and areas around Lake Windermere and Lake Coniston

The Southern area of the Lake District includes: 1. Grasmere, 2. Rydal, 3. Ambleside, 4. Windermere, 5. Bowness-on-Windermere, 6. Newby Bridge, 7. Near Sawrey, 8. Hawkshead, 9. Coniston, 10. Tilberthwaite, 11. Little Langdale, and 12. Great Langdale.

Click on a link below to explore further.

South > 9. Coniston Area

Area Summary

A former mining village on the edge of the lake of the same name.

Click on a link below to explore further.

Monk Coniston

Monk Coniston is a hall owned by the National Trust. It is privately let out as a hotel but there is a permissive path through the gardens. There is a jetty for the Gondola steamer about 600 metres away.

Images for Monk Coniston

Lake District - South - Coniston Area - Monk Coniston 1

External map links for Monk Coniston

View on 1:200k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:50k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:25k OS map (StreetMap)

Photo Credits:
1: © Copyright Nigel Mykura and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.