Lake District - West

Includes areas around Dunnerdale, Eskdale, Ennerdale and Buttermere

The Western area of the Lake District includes: 1. Wrynose Pass, 2. Dunnerdale, 3. Hard Knott Pass, 4. Eskdale, 5. Ravenglass, 6. Wasdale, 7. Ennerdale, 8. Loweswater, 9. Whinlatter, 10. Buttermere, 11. Newlands Pass, and 12. Honister Pass.

Click on a link below to explore further.

West > 6. Wasdale Area

Area Summary

The Wasdale area is based around the valley of the same name.

Click on a link below to explore further.

Sphinx Rock

A sphinx-like crag on the south side of Great Gable.

Images for Sphinx Rock

Lake District - West - Wasdale Area - Sphinx Rock 1

External map links for Sphinx Rock

View on 1:200k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:50k OS map (StreetMap)

View on 1:25k OS map (StreetMap)

Photo Credits:
1: © Copyright Clive Giddis and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.